I read today about Dr. Levitin. He is studying how we respond emotionally to the music that we hear. He says something to the effect that we respond differently to music when we watch the musician as opposed to just hearing it, like on the radio.

I am NOT a musician. But I would give up a lot to become one.

(Not like hours of hard work and practice, mind you. I was thinking more like…cake. And, pickles. I would definately sacrifice pickles!)

Music is a language that can give form to emotions and shape to our thoughts that are beyond our reach with mere words. I am a word lover. I am a book junkie. But music is powerful and trans-lingual (um..is that a word?). I can fall into a song that I don’t know the words to and emerge changed.

There are times when I can feel it wash over me, caress me and disappear. There are times when it picks me up and carries me in its arms of love.

One of the most beautiful Scripture verses I have ever read says “He will take great delight in you, he will quiet you with his love, he will rejoice over you with singing.”

We all need someone to sing over us.

