Maybe I should know more by now. Maybe I should be better informed on the issues of the day. Maybe I should be a better leader, teacher, parent, friend, writer and plant grower.

It seems that every where I look lately, people know exactly what they are talking about, exactly how they came to that conclusion and exactly how I should agree with them.

I didn’t know that as a Christian, my top voting priority for the leadership of my country is supposed to be ab*rtion stance and gun ownership. I thought that as a Christian, I was supposed to vote for the people I thought most likely would improve my community and my country. In fact, I didn’t even know that as a Christian, I was supposed to vote as a “Christian”….Does that make sense?

It seems that I don’t really know the things I need to know, to be an informed voter. I don’t even know where to look for the truth, because everyone seems to have their own agenda.

And it seems that I am running out of time. I have been looking at time managment alot lately. Not just in a productivity sence, but in a mental thought sense. The more organized I am, the less my mind is hi-jacked by relentless thoughts of “What should I be doing, what have I not done…and What have I totally forgotten to do?”

So here’s my thought. Find an issue important to me. Find out who in my community agrees with me on this issue. And find out who can make that issue happen. Start there. One little issue. One little cause. One puzzle piece at a time. Because the whole political arena, is way beyond my understanding. I can barely remember when to fertilize my roses and when the next picture day is at school. Then maybe I won’t feel so overwhelmed and unproductive.

So, I don’t have the “facts” on this one, but I caught a blurb on a blog…Did P*lin  really, REALLY, vote AGAINST legislation that was designed to repeal a law that had rape victims having to pay for their own rape kits? Beacuse, that’s insane. Not insane that she voted against it so much as it was enacted IN THE FIRST PLACE. How do these things happen? Are they happening in MY community? I don’t know. Maybe. Maybe I should find out.

Maybe thats too big an issue. How about play ground safety? How about meals for the elderly? How about safe daycare so people can go to work and not worry about their children.

Maybe these issues are too small. Too localized, too far removed from the needs of the country at large. What do I know?

Maybe the best thing to do is to start with me. And my family. And my neighborhood.

Any thoughts?

